The 14th Barbour Playwrights Award returns in June


The Episcopal Actors’ Guild has announced the return of the Barbour Playwrights Award! This festival celebrating new works for the theater will return in June 2021 and feature virtual readings of three new plays nominated by this year’s partner company, Leviathan Lab.

The festival begins on Monday June 7 at 7 p.m. with a reading of Learn to read by moonlight by Gaven D. Trinidad. Then Monday June 14 at 7 p.m. EST Panic Room: a villainy of the crows by Cherry Lou Sy. The festival closes on Monday June 21 at 7 p.m. is that of Garrett David Kim Are you there, Truman?. One of these three finalist playwrights will receive a prize of $ 500.

“On behalf of the Leviathan Lab staff and board of directors, we are honored to partner with EAG for the Barbour Prize,” said Ariel Estrada, Founder and Artistic Director of Leviathan Lab. “We are grateful to EAG for its support of Leviathan’s mission to advance the voices of Asians, Pacific Islanders, and Asian Americans in theater and film. All three plays in the series examine tribute as racism, sexism and xenophobia weigh on hearts, minds playwrights all approach this subject from three very different perspectives, offering a fascinating questioning of what it means to be AAPI now, in an America and a world ravaged by COVID, anti-Asian, anti-Darkness and white supremacy hatred. “

In 2007, EAG created this special award to honor the legacy of actor, playwright and EAG member Thomas Barbour (Arthur, Great White Hope) whose support for emerging artists has been an inspiration to many. The Barbour Prize was created and endowed by Janet Barbour Carhart, Alison Barbour Fox and part of the donation left to EAG by the estate of Mr. Thomas Barbour. All profits from staged readings of the Barbour finalists’ plays go directly to support future Barbour Awards.

Past winners of the Barbour Playwrights Award include Reynaldo Piniella (Black Doves, Quick Silver Theater Company, 2019), Alexis Roblan (The Andrew Play, New Perspectives Theater Company’s Women’s Work Project, 2018), Andrea J. Fulton (A Punk or A Gentleman, Theater for a New City, 2017), Perry Guzzi (Across the Way, HB Studios, 2016), Dara O’Brien (Early Sunday Morning (Resonance Ensemble, 2015), Mark Karafin (Man in the Moon, Oberon Theater Ensemble , 2014), Bill Cosgriff (Rio Rita, American Renaissance Theater Company, 2013), Aaron Jafferis (How to Break, ICI, 2012), Ian August (Donna Orbits the Moon, NJ Rep, 2011), Lynn Rosen (Apple Cove, Women’s Project, tie 2010), Laura Eason (40 Days, Women’s Project, tie 2010), Alisha Silver (Golden, Hunter College, 2009) and Jack Frankel (Human Voices, Polaris North, 2008).

Founded in 2009, Leviathan Lab is an award-winning, non-profit creative studio whose mission is the advancement of Asian and Asian American (A / AA) artists and their work. By speaking the words of A / AA artists and showcasing A / AA bodies, presences and gestures on stage and in film, Leviathan strives to open spaces that promote social justice, connect communities and affirm the power of art to change. the world. They function as a laboratory where early career and established A / AA artists can be courageous, experiment and thrive creating works that captivate the audiences Leviathan serves.

The Episcopal Actors Guild was established in 1923 and is a charitable organization providing emergency aid and professional support to professional performers “of all faiths and none”. We also run a full calendar of events and fundraisers, including concerts, variety shows, play readings, and professional workshops. Learn more about

Thomas Barbour was a staunch supporter of the theater, emerging playwrights, and the Episcopal Actor’s Guild. On stage and on screen, Mr. Barbour has had a prolific acting career, including roles in Arthur with Dudley Moore and The Great White Hope with James Earl Jones. Off the stage, Mr. Barbour has worked tirelessly on behalf of EAG, serving many years as Treasurer and Vice President. Under his leadership, the Guild’s scholarship program grew from two annual awards of $ 500 to five annual awards of $ 1,000. Mr. Barbour also co-founded Polaris North and was a long-time member of the Perry Street Block Association.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.